Home Divisions Committee Meetings Conference Members Documents History


We have several technical divisions, which organise meetings on current coal research issues. The chairman of each division is listed below:

Advanced Power Generation

Dr Robin Irons, Uniper Ltd., robin.irons@uniper.energy

Coal Characterisation

Professor Ed Lester, University of Nottingham edward.lester@nottingham.ac.uk

Coal Conversion

Professor John Patrick, University of Nottingham john.patrick@nottingham.ac.uk

Coal Preparation

Mr Andrew Howells, National Secretary of the MES hon.sec.mes@lineone.net


Professor Jon Gibbins, University of Sheffield jon.gibbins@sheffield.ac.uk


Dr Bill Nimmo, University of Sheffield, w.nimmo@sheffield.ac.uk